Don't miss a recipe! Sign up for free email updates.


1 Comment

  1. Brisbane hotels December 28, 2009 Reply

    It can be made with a cream cheese dough, though the dough is more typically pareve (no dairy ingredients), so that it can be eaten with or after a meat meal and still be kosher. The different fillings can include raisins, walnuts, cinnamon, chocolate, marzipan, poppy seed, or apricot preserves which are rolled up inside.

    Rugelach is a traditional Jewish food that is eaten any time of year, including, but not limited to Shabbat. It is not traditional on Hanukkah because it is not fried in oil. In Yiddish, the Jewish language spoken in Eastern Europe, rugelach means “little twist.”

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *